What is in the SPA? It stands for The William Ransom School and Parents’ Association.

It’s everyone who one way or another is connected to the School: parents, teachers, teaching assistants, office and caretaking staff, Governors and all stakeholders involved in the School.

The SPA acts as a starting point for the school community, it is a support mechanism for the School and a support means for all parents. It is also a major contributor to fundraising for the School.

The SPA organises and runs a multitude of events throughout the year to help raise money for the School. And these are fun events for all the family and nights out for grow-ups.

Every year the School runs Treasure Hunt and Picnic, a Bingo Night, The Winter Wonderland, Quiz and Curry night, a Disco night, a Summer Fete and many other activities. Our biggest fund raisers are The Winter Wonderland and Summer Fete.

All SPA events are listed on which also allows us to take online payments for events, admission, tickets etc.

Money raised at these events is then spent on various projects: an extension to the new outdoor environment and play area, ongoing support of the IT needs, coaches for theatre visits, inviting an artist to work with children.

In the near future, the School is looking to repeat the artist’s visit, introduce Living History days, develop the outdoor environment, as well as continue to upgrade IT equipment for the children.

As Mrs Driver puts it, “All the money in the world cannot make a good school, but the right approach, working in partnership, and commitment, can! Our aim is that we will work together to help the school and this in turn will help the children.”

If you are interested to learn more, please do not hesitate to contact any current SPA Committee member via our SPA social pages or through the School’s office.

Help comes in many guises and everyone is welcome!

SPA Committee

  • Mariam Bajulaiye
  • Nikki Beswick
  • Tanya Burman
  • Alison Dyson
  • Clare Evans
  • Ana Garcia
  • Sue Harris
  • Amanda Hepple (Secretary)
  • Sharon Jenkinson
  • Sabine Jones
  • Amit Kalra
  • Subha Ramakrishnan
  • Ricardo Rodrigues (Treasurer)
  • Sasha Willans
  • Suzan Baykara
  • Mary Driver (President)
  • Julie Hall (Vice President)
  • Peter Carmody
  • Kate Owen
  • Amelia Wells